Interview with Cyci Cade author of Dragon’s Quest

CCCyci Cade author of Dragon’s Quest

Where do you currently reside, and why did you choose this place? I was born in Brazil and I live in a mid-sized city, Piracicaba. It´s a good place to live. I have all I need here as a good gym, cinema, shopping mall, great schools, friends…

What inspired you to begin writing? After reading uncountable books I thought, I want to do that! Dan Brown and Philip Pullman´s books inspired me, transported me to a new world full of action, adventure and magic. I wanted to do that to other people, take them out of the real world into fantastic place that I would create.

Tell us about Dragon’s Quest in 20 words or less. Dragon´s Quest is a fantasy novel. Two princes must break their curse to restore the Dragon´s Dynasty and their family.

What has been the most exciting part of being a published author? It´s a dream coming true. I´m a Brazilian author, I live in Brazil, therefore it´s difficult to publish a book in another country and I had this opportunity. I´m very happy.

What do you do to prepare for a writing session? I don´t have a special ritual. I have a routine of exercises and meditation that helps me physically and mentally. I also read books and watch movies and series related to my work to improve my creativity and give me ideas.

Does writing get easier with each project? Yes, it does. As any other activity, you can improve your writing with practice. The more you write, the easier it becomes.

What has been the worst part of being a published author? Contracts have rules and you must obey them. You can´t do what you want. That is why it is important to study a contract before signing it.

What books have influenced your writing? Many books have influenced my writing. The most important books are: Deception Point and Digital Fortress by Dan Brown. Northern Light, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman. Divergent Series by Veronica Roth. Wereworld Series by Curtis Jobling. Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer.

Is there an Author (past or present) that you would really like to meet? Dan Brown.

If you could talk to your former self, what advice would you give her? Don´t be so anxious! Be patient, everything will happen at the right time.

What has been the harshest critique you have ever received concerning your writing? Many years ago a reader wrote a strange review of another book. She mentioned some parts of the books and ranked them; her comments made no sense. I didn´t understand a world and I started to check if there was something wrong with the text, but everything was right. It infuriated me.

As a writer, it is considered unprofessional and inappropriate to give a retort to a critic or criticism. Were it “politically correct” to address your critics personally, what would be the one thing you would say to them? It would depend on the critic, but it would be something like, Can you do it better?

Are you currently working on any other projects? I am editing Dragon Princes #2, Dragon´s Memories, and finishing another book, The Pharaoh.

What is the last thing you read? Did you like it, hate it? The last book I read was Queen of Chaos by Kat Ross. I liked the book very much; the series The Fourth Element is amazing.

What was the last movie you watched? Did you like it, hate it? The last movie I watched was Assassin´s Creed. It was a good movie, but I expected more action. The movie didn´t meet my expectations.

Where can readers find your works and follow you?

DQKINDLE

Dragon´s Quest universal link: https://books2read.com/u/bo6Nk0

Social media: Author blog: http://www.cycicadebooks.com/ Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/cycicade/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/cycicade Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14708772.Cyci_Cade Pinterest: https://br.pinterest.com/cycicade/ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cycicade/ G+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+CyciCade

One thought on “Interview with Cyci Cade author of Dragon’s Quest

Leave a Reply

