Country Song

It was late in the fall in a southside bar
I’d driven through a squall in a beat up car.
Well I ran across the lot and went inside
My head felt hot and my eyes went wide

There at the bar through the fug and gloom
Shone the brightest light in the whole darn room.
With hair tied back glass held to her chest
Sat the wildest thing come in from the west

Well I sat at the bar and got me a drink
When I caught her eye she he gave me a wink
So I looked around to see if it was me
The next thing I know was her hand on my knee
I coughed and spluttered ‘till I found my voice
One look in those eyes and I had no choice

We started to dance I pulled her to my chest
And the void in between was filled with her breast
Her eyes were pools and her hair smelled pretty
We talked as we danced she was smart and witty

I fell for her and she for me
Our love grew roots like old oak tree
We strung up rope and made us a swing
You should have heard us love birds sing

Well over years we got along fine
Drank a lot of beer and few good wines
We had us some kids, was it two or three
I still got my girl sat on my knee

I look in her eyes from time to time
A swim in those pools is still divine
I take her by the hand, kiss the wine from her lips
Pull her in close to feel the heat of her hips.

Now we are old taking life in our stride
Our love’s still as deep as far as its wide
Our passion’s spoken in soft sighs
She’ still my girl with the pendulum thighs

Leave a Reply

